Daily Archives: September 9, 2008

Reflections

Standard

Sometimes I feel like I am floating through life and I have to wonder what is my purpose? What does God have planned for me? This weekend was our youth group’s back-to-school retreat and everything became so clear.

Friday night as we began the retreat with Nick Thurman leading us in worship, I looked around the room at all the kids. Some were new and some were return students but what really caught me was the tiny new 6th graders that looked so overwhelmed! They were so little! I thought of my own daughter who started 4th grade this year and has her own little group of friends here and had the sudden realization that she will be standing in this same room in 2 short years. Realizing this group of kids will soon be Sophie’s group of friends with some of my 10th graders as her small group leaders was very “AHA”ish for me. I would be so proud of any one of these kids being her future leader. They have grown spiritually over this past year and are all such awesome and funny kids. I look forward to everything we will learn together over the next year.

I realized that everything God has taken me through in my life has brought me to this point. I am exactly where He wants and needs me to be. Everyone’s life has trials and it is how we react and what we take from them that makes a person. I know He has so much more in store for me. I know my place is to work with these kids and I know I will still be there when Sophie graduates to the youth group. I have funny visions of her being the one getting told to put her phone in the middle of the table because she was caught texting and unfortunately her being the one told to get off of the top of Barb’s car. Sigh. What would a youth group be if there were no stories?